Facebook Glitch Has Users Rejoin Old Groups

(Ping! Zine Web Tech Magazine) – Facebook faced a big oops recently after a flaw saw a number of users re-subscribed to groups they had previously left.

Facebook users noticed the dilemma after reportedly receiving numerous group notifications.

“My guess is that Facebook *did* “move fast and break things” – and made a change to some of its systems, which caused this unintended privacy controversy,” stated a blog post from Graham Cluley of security firm Sophos.

According to the BBC, the social network has emphasized personal details weren’t made available through the glitch. The matter, however, could increase security concerns over exactly what information the popular social network stores.

Advertisement