(Ping! Zine Web Tech Magazine) – A new privacy controversy seems to be heating up for top tech provider Google.
On Friday, a report from The New York Times noted the company had initiated a change to its terms of service, something that will allow Google to use peoples’ names, comments and photos in advertisements on networks like Google Plus and YouTube.
Specifically, the ads are expected to pertain to things like ratings, reviews and posts.
The policy change is set to go into effect on November 11th.
Here’s how Google explained the policy shift in a post: “We want to give you – and your friends and connections – the most useful information. Recommendations from people you know can really help. So your friends, family and others may see your Profile name and photo, and content like the reviews you share or the ads you +1’d. This only happens when you take an action (things like +1’ing, commenting or following) – and the only people who see it are the people you’ve chosen to share that content with. On Google, you’re in control of what you share. This update to our Terms of Service doesn’t change in any way who you’ve shared things with in the past or your ability to control who you want to share things with in the future.”
Social giant Facebook has used a similar tactic in the past, showing ads on its social site. For example, if a friend likes “company A,” a Facebook ad will appear showing that your friend likes “company A,” thus recommending that you like it as well. Of course, however, you’re able to opt out.
Google’s display advertising network is estimated to be viewed by as many as a billion people.
Exceptions to the new terms of service will allow users to opt out from being included in addition to automatically excluding minors by default.